

China Tax Alert



Issue 9, December 2024

China upgrades its visa-exempt transit policy

Summary :

The national Immigration Administration (NIA) announced on 17th December 2024 that it will further relax and enhance visa-exempt transit policy with extended validity of each stay, more ports of entry, and open up areas for visa-exempt transit travelers to stay. The policy is effective immediately.

Highlights

The upgraded policy includes the following key points:

- Extension of duration of stay: The duration of stay in China for individuals from 54 eligible countries is extended to 240 hours (10 days). Please refer to Appendix I for the list of countries.
- Increased number of ports of entry: The number of open ports of entry have been expanded to 60, which are located in 24 provinces adding 5 new provinces to the list, including Shanxi, Anhui, Jiangxi, Hainan and Guizhou Province.
- Expansion of allowed areas of stay: Foreign nationals from eligible countries would be able to stay in the allowed 24 provinces for the purpose of tourism, family visits, medical treatment, cultural exchange, and commercial trades, with specific cities in Shanxi, Heilongjiang, Jiangxi, Guangxi and Yunnan Province. Please refer to Appendix II for the list of applicable provinces and allowed areas of stay.

Why this matters ·

By further relaxing and enhancing visa-exempt transit policy, China looks to attract more short-term visitors for cultural and business exchanges. Most of the newly added ports locate in cities and provinces with rich cultural heritage and tourism resources. It is conductive to promote Chinese culture and allow the world to experience charm of China.

KPMG insights

The "upgraded" visa-exemption policies allow longer stay per entry and wider range of activities to be performed The upgrade of China's visa-exempt transit policy will continue to boost openness and attract visitors to China, aiming at accelerating cross-border mobility and promoting international communication and cooperations, and economic interaction.

Foreign nationals intending to utilise the 240-hour visa-exempt transit policy should ensure they have the following in place:

- · Valid international travel document with at least three-month validity;
- · Official document proving your right to enter the next destination country/region;
- Ticket for connecting flight/appropriate transportation to the next destination country/region with confirmed date and seat for departure within 240 hours.

Foreigners who intend to come to China to work should apply for working visa in advance and convert working visa to work permit after entering into China.

If you are uncertain whether the visa-exempt transit policy applies to you, please consult a immigration counsel or with a member of the KPMG immigration team in the People's Republic of China.

Appendix

Appendix I

Eligible countries (54 countries)				
Valid until further notice				
Continents	Countries	Countries	Countries	
Europe (40 countries)	Austria	Belgium	Czech Republic	
	Denmark	Estonia	Finland	
	France	Germany	Greece	
	Hungary	Iceland	Italy	
	Latvia	Lithuania	Luxembourg	
	Malta	The Netherlands	Poland	
	Portugal	Slovakia	Slovenia	
	Spain	Sweden	Switzerland	
	Monaco	Russia	The United Kingdom	
	Ireland	Cyprus	Bulgaria	
	Romania	Ukraine	Serbia	
	Croatia	Bosnia and Herzegovina	Montenegro	
	North Macedonia	Albania	Belarus	
	Norway			
America (6 countries)	The United States of America	Canada	Brazil	
	Mexico	Argentina	Chile	
Oceania (2 countries)	Australia	New Zealand		
Asia (6 countries)	Republic of Korea	Japan	Singapore	
	Brunei	United Arab Emirates	Qatar	

© 2024 KPMG Huazhen LLP, a People's Republic of China partnership, KPMG Advisory (China) Limited, a limited liability company in Chinese Mainland, KPMG, a Macau (SAR) partnership, and KPMG, a Hong Kong (SAR) partnership, are member firms of the KPMG global organisation of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a private English company limited by guarantee. All rights reserved.

Appendix II

Applicable provinces and allowed areas of stay				
Valid until further notice				
S/N	Provinces (Regions or Municipalities)	Allowed Areas of Stay		
1	Beijing	Beijing		
2	Tianjin	Tianjin		
3	Hebei	Hebei		
4	Liaoning	Liaoning		
5	Shanghai	Shanghai		
6	Jiangsu	Jiangsu		
7	Zhejiang	Zhejiang		
8	Anhui	Anhui		
9	Fujian	Fujian		
10	Shandong	Shandong		
11	Henan	Henan		
12	Hubei	Hubei		
13	Hunan	Hunan		
14	Guangdong	Guangdong (Exit available at all open ports across the province)		
15	Hainan	Hainan		
16	Chongqing	Chongqing		
17	Guizhou	Guizhou		
18	Shaanxi	Shaanxi		
19	Shanxi	Taiyuan and Datong		
20	Heilongjiang	Harbin		
21	Jiangxi	Nanchang and Jingdezhen		
22	Guangxi	A total of 12 cities: Nanning, Liuzhou, Guilin, Wuzhou, Beihai, Fang Chenggang, Qinzhou, Guigang, Yulin, Hezhou, Hechi, and Laibin		
23	Sichuan	A total of 11 cities: Chengdu, Zigong, Luzhou, Deyang, Suining, Neijiang, Leshan, Yibin, Yan'an • Meishan, and Ziyang		
24	Yunnan	A total of 9 cities and autonomous prefectures: Kunming, Yuxi, Chuxiong, Honghe, Wenshan, Pu'er, Xishuangbanna, Dali, and Lijiang		

kpmg.com/cn/socialmedia





For more information of KPMG China tax services, please scan the QR code or visit our website: https://kpmg.com/cn/en/home/insights/2024/01/china-tax-alert.html



For a list of KPMG China offices, please scan the QR code or visit our website: https://home.kpmg.com/cn/en/home/about/offices.html

The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavour to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation.

© 2024 KPMG Huazhen LLP, a People's Republic of China partnership, KPMG Advisory (China) Limited, a limited liability company in Chinese Mainland, KPMG, a Macau (SAR) partnership, and KPMG, a Hong Kong (SAR) partnership, are member firms of the KPMG global organisation of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Limited, a private English company limited by guarantee. All rights reserved. Printed in Chinese Mainland.

The KPMG name and logo are trademarks used under license by the independent member firms of the KPMG global organisation.