

Background

EU Blacklist

EU Tax Centre Comment

The Council adds ten jurisdictions to its list of non-cooperative jurisdictions

Council – Code of Conduct Group – Harmful Tax Regimes - EU Blacklist – Tax Transparency

On March 12, 2019 the Council adopted a revised EU "black list" of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes. In addition to the five jurisdictions that were already listed, the revised list now includes ten additional jurisdictions that did not deliver on their commitments on time: Aruba, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Dominica, Fiji, Marshall Islands, Oman, United Arab Emirates and Vanuatu.

Background

The EU blacklist of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes, first adopted on December 5, 2017, is part of the EU's effort to clamp down on tax avoidance and harmful tax practices. As part of the listing process, jurisdictions identified as cooperative, subject to successful delivery on their commitments to comply with the EU screening criteria, were placed on Annex II of the Council conclusions of December 5, 2017, the so-called "grey-list". In this respect, commitments taken by grey-listed jurisdictions are closely monitored. Following the recommendations of the Code of Conduct Group, the ECOFIN further concluded on December 4, 2018 that:

- Macao SAR should be removed from section 1.1 (Transparency),
- Oman should be removed from section 1.2 (Transparency),
- Andorra and San Marino should be removed from section 2.1 (Harmful Preferential Tax Regimes),
- Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines should be removed from section 3.1 (Implementation of the BEPS minimum standards).

Finally, the ECOFIN adopted <u>conclusions</u> welcoming the work performed by the Code of Conduct Group during the Austrian Presidency on the basis of the report presented on November 20, 2018 (see <u>ETF 387</u>). The Council particularly welcomed the completion of the assessment of the Member States' notional interest deduction regimes and invited the Group to develop guidance for other Member States that wish to implement a similar regime.

Regarding the EU blacklist, the Council further underlined its determination to update the list at the beginning of 2019 based on a review of the commitments taken by various jurisdictions to comply with the EU screening criteria by the end of 2018. It also endorsed draft guidance on the implementation of criterion 3.2 (country-by-country reporting), as well as the extension of the geographical scope of the EU screening and listing exercise as from 2020.

Revised EU Blacklist

Over the course of 2018, most of the countries and territories on the blacklist engaged in constructive dialogue with the EU and took commitments to comply with the EU's criteria. As such, by the end of 2018, only American Samoa, Guam, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago and the US Virgin Islands remained on the blacklist. Most of the commitments taken by third country jurisdictions were given a deadline of the end of 2018 and their enactment into national law was carefully monitored at a technical level by the Code of Conduct Group on business taxation until the beginning of 2019.

The monitoring process revealed that the following ten jurisdictions either failed to deliver on their commitments by the agreed upon deadline or made no commitment to address the EU's concerns: Aruba, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Dominica, Fiji, Marshall Islands, Oman, United Arab Emirates and Vanuatu. According to the European Commission, these jurisdictions did not engage with the EU and failed to address the tax good governance shortcomings identified as part of the review process. Consequently, the aforementioned jurisdictions have been added to the revised blacklist, which is now comprised of fifteen jurisdictions.

EU Tax Centre Comment

The work on the EU blacklist is a dynamic process that will be regularly reviewed and updated. Additionally, the evolving deadlines will be closely monitored to ensure jurisdictions deliver on their commitments. Jurisdictions will only be removed from the list once they have engaged in dialogue with the EU and addressed EU concerns.

Should you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact <u>KPMG's EU Tax Centre</u>, or, as appropriate, your local KPMG tax advisor.



Robert van der Jagt Chairman, KPMG's EU Tax Centre and Partner, Meijburg & Co



Privacy | Legal

You have received this message from KPMG's EU Tax Centre. If you wish to unsubscribe, please send an Email to <u>eutax@kpmg.com</u>.

If you have any questions, please send an email to eutax@kpmg.com

You have received this message from KPMG International Cooperative in collaboration with the EU Tax Centre. Its content should be viewed only as a general guide and should not be relied on without consulting your local KPMG tax adviser for the specific application of a country's tax rules to your own situation. The information contained herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation.

To unsubscribe from the Euro Tax Flash mailing list, please e-mail KPMG's EU Tax Centre mailbox (eutax@kpmg.com) with "Unsubscribe Euro Tax Flash" as the subject line. For non-KPMG parties – please indicate in the message field your name, company and country, as well as the name of your local KPMG contact.

KPMG's EU Tax Centre, Laan van Langerhuize 9, 1186 DS Amstelveen, Netherlands

© 2019 KPMG International Cooperative ("KPMG International"), a Swiss entity. Member firms of the KPMG network of independent firms are affiliated with KPMG International. KPMG International provides no client services. No member firm has any authority to obligate or bind KPMG International or any other member firm vis-à-vis third parties, nor does KPMG International have any such authority to obligate or bind any member firm. All rights reserved. The KPMG name and logo are registered trademarks or trademarks of KPMG International.